Where is French Polynesia ?

Location in the world

Tahiti in the World

French Polynesia is composed of 118 islands divided into 5 archipelagoes located in the middle of the South Pacific Ocean. Spread over a surface larger than Europe, these 118 islands barely occupy 4,000 km² of land (less than 1/100 of the surface of France).

Of this surface the atoll of Rangiroa is the largest with a total of 1600 km². The entire island of Tahiti, the next largest at 1000 km², could fit into its huge lagoon.

250 000 yearly visitors, mostly from the U.S., Japan and Europe, are expected during the next decade.

Situation in the Pacific

La Polynésie dans le Pacifique







1 French Polynesia (TAHITI) 7   New Caledonia
2  Cook Islands and Samoan Islands 8   Melanesia
3  Wallis and Futuna 9   Micronesia
4  Fiji Islands 10 Galapagos
5  Easter Island 11 Hawaii
6  Vanuatu 12 Philippines

The 5 archipelagoes of French Polynesia

  • Society islands
    • Winward islands : Tahiti, Moorea, Tetiaroa…
    • Leeward islands : Bora Bora, Huahine, Raiatea
  • Tuamotu islands : Rangiroa, Manihi, Tikehau, Fakarava…
  • Marquesas islands : Hiva Oa, Nuku Hiva…
  • Australs islands : Rapa, Tubuai…
  • Gambier islands : Mangareva…

Leave a Reply